The Life of the Huron Wendat

Their Land: Wendake

The Huron Wendat nation occupied the area north and west of Lake Simcoe and south and east of Georgian Bay. About 70 percent of this area was arable land.

The area provided excellent fishing and hunting. Georgian Bay and its many rivers allowed the Wendat to control exchange between the fertile south and the Canadian Shield. Within Wendake, about 330 kilometres of trails linked the four tribes of the Huron Nation and all the villages. Paths criss-crossed throughout Wendake and led to nearby areas of the Petun and Neutral Nations.

Birch bark canoes were used to travel long distances. They were about seven metres long and one metre wide, and could carry four or five men and about 91 kilograms of cargo. During the winter, the Wendat used snowshoes (raquettes) toboggans and sleighs.

Tribes and Clans

The Huron Wendat Nation was an association of Iroquian speaking groups. They were divided into four main tribes:

•  The Bear Tribe (Attignawantan) was the largest of the tribes accounting for almost half the Wendat population. There were thirteen villages of the Bear clan in 1640.

•  The Cord Tribe (Attigneenongnahac) lived between the Sturgeon and Coldwater Rivers, in the Mount St. Louis Ridge. They lived in three main villages. Like the Bear, they were one of the oldest tribes.

•  The Rock Tribe (Arendarhonon) was located between Coldwater and Orillia. They had four villages, with the main village of Cahiague.

•  The Deer Tribe (Tahontaenrat) was the last tribe to enter Wendake. They lived in the area north of Orr Lake.

The People of the Bog (Ataronchrono) were not recognized in the confederacy, but were represented by the people of the Bear Tribe. They are thought to have been made up of clan segments from the Bear Tribe and perhaps some refugees fleeing from the Seneca to the south.

A chief of a clan segment initiated tribal councils. Before travelling to the meeting, each clan would choose their position on the matter to be discussed. All clan segment chiefs would attend an annual confederacy council. They would discuss common war and defense plans, and renew and strengthen ties between nations. For several weeks, usually in the spring, there was dancing, feasting and gift giving.

Clans

Day-to-day government of the Huron Wendat was based on the clan. The clan consisted of individuals descended from a common female ancestor. Various clan leaders made up the village council. Councils were restricted to the male chiefs, and women had no direct voice in them. Since people usually married outside their clan, most of the villages were united through marriage. This resulted in strong social bonds.

There were eight Huron Wendat Clans, which were functional organizations. They cut across Tribal Boundaries. The clan names were based on animals that are prominent in the Huron Wendat creation myth: Turtle, Wolf, Bear, Beaver, Deer, Hawk, Porcupine and Snake. Most of the eight clans were represented in each village.

Daily Life

The Huron Wendat were farmers who grew corn, beans, and squash. Sixty-five percent of their diet consisted of corn. Dried and shelled, the corn was pounded into flour or sometimes ground between stones. Corn soup (sagamité) was enriched with fish, meat and squash. Unleavened corn bread was baked under hot ashes, with dried fruits and deer meat added. Other items on the Huron Wendat menu included beans, wild berries, nuts and maple syrup. Sunflowers were grown for their oil, used in food and as a body rub.

The women of the village planted the three main crops on raised hills. About every two years the soil would become depleted, and new fields would be cultivated. In the fall, corn was harvested and hung from poles in the longhouse to dry. Beans were dried and stored with the corn in bark or wooden containers.

The men fished using nets and weirs (underwater enclosures). Sometimes, wooden spears with barbed boneheads were used for fishing. They caught whitefish, trout, sturgeon, pike and catfish. Most of the fish was dried and smoked for later consumption. Hunting season was in the spring and fall. The principle game was deer, prized for both its hide and meat.

The Huron Wendat caught deer by driving them into rivers or enclosures, where they were shot with bow and arrow. The meat was smoked and mostly used as a main dish at feasts and celebrations. Huron Wendat hunters also tracked bear with specially trained dogs. Dogs were the only domesticated animals in Huron Wendat society. At certain times dogs were eaten or sacrificed, especially in the winter, when meat was in short supply.

Hunters killed beaver with snares, arrows and clubs. The beaver was killed for fur as well as meat and it was a dominant part of the 17th century fur trade. The beaver population was likely exhausted in Wendake by the 1630's.

Gathered food was part of the Huron Wendat diet. Ripe fruits, nuts and berries, bullrush roots and maple sap were all collected and added to the diet. Hemp was used for nets, ropes, and baskets.

Family Life

An average longhouse accommodated six families. Each family consisted of a woman, her daughters or sisters, and their husbands and children. In the longhouse, the women had influence on the male leaders. Women were guardians of the family and of village traditions. They also had a long list of duties:

•  cooking, sewing and tanning leather

•  child care

•  cleaning out cooking fires and hearths

•  gathering food

•  making baskets and pots

•  weaving mats and fishing nets

•  farming

•  caring for families and guests.

Farming was the most important of their labours. Using small wooden spades, the women planted and tended the crops, scared off birds and rodents, harvested the crops, and burned the remaining stalks to nourish the soil.

The Wendat men aspired to be brave warriors, good hunters and fishermen, and clever traders. They also tried to earn reputations for generosity, good advice and good speech making. The men of each village took care of:

•  clearing new fields

•  hunting

•  fishing and storing the fish

•  making stone and wooden utensils and tools

•  repairing the village structures

•  making canoes, pipes, snowshoes and sleds

•  peace negotiations with the outside world.

Huron Wendat men and women worked hard to acquire goods, and shared with others of the longhouse, village, clan tribe and confederacy. In several early accounts, European visitors made special note of Huron Wendat generosity to the French and to other Native groups.

Huron Wendat marriages were monogamous and could be terminated by either partner. This was rare if children were involved. When a woman became pregnant, it was normal for each man she had lived with to claim the child as his. The choice was up to the mother. Pregnant women faced some restrictions. They were never to be within sight of game, for fear the animal would get away. They were never to set foot in the house of a sick person, because it was believed that the sickness would get worse.

Newborn babies were named after they had their ears pierced. Wrapped in furs, the babies were carried in cradleboards filled with soft, warm down from bullrushes. A child was breast-fed up to the age of two or three years. Older babies were also fed soups and chewed meats. Children were well-liked and well taken care of by everyone.

With their great sense of dignity, the Huron Wendat felt it was wrong to coerce or publicly humiliate anyone, especially a child. Physical punishment was never used as discipline.

There was little formal training for children, but they learned skills from their games. Girls helped their mothers with their work. Boys were expected to be hardy, brave and self-reliant. From an early age, boys would cut and burn themselves, to prepare for future tests of their courage and manhood.

Village Life

Villages were built near a good water supply and near arable soil. The Wendat chose their building sites carefully. An ideal site would have been located:

•  beside a bluff

•  close to a spring

•  overlooking a navigable waterway

•  near a large area suitable for farming

•  near a wood supply for fires and building material

Large villages were fenced with rows of upright poles. Rows of poles were reinforced by inserting saplings to form a basket weave. Narrow gates, watchtowers and galleries provided defense.

Families lived in longhouses, windowless structures between 25 and 30 metres long and six to nine metres wide and high. Longhouses were made of poles bent over to form an arbour, which was then covered with bark and saplings. There were low doors at each end, and usually a porch where food and wood were stored. Holes in the roof let smoke out and light in. Fireplaces, usually about 6 metres apart, served two families. Smoke often caused eye disease among the old. Estimating six members per family, the average longhouse would house 36-40 people.

A platform ran along each side of the longhouse. In the winter, the people slept on the floor near the fires, and the shelves served as storage. In the summer the people slept outdoors, or on the shelves, which were as wide as bunks. Longhouse furnishings were simple: reed, bark or husk or animal skin mats, pottery, baskets, and huge containers of stored corn.

A longhouse lasted about eight to ten years. A village usually moved every 20 - 40 years. The move was made with help from nearby villages.

Huron Wendat Clothing

Wendat clothing was made from deer and beaver hides. Men wore loincloths and moccasins. In winter, they added leggings and sleeves and a cloak made of fur. Women dressed the same way, substituting a skirt for the loincloth. The Wendat wore body paint and beads, and red was a favourite colour. They also used porcupine quills and feathers for decoration. Women wore ornamental bone combs in their hair. Wampum made of shells, bones and glass beads was another popular decoration.

Men wore fire pouches on their backs in which they carried tobacco pipes, charms and other personal belongings. Pipes were highly prized, and the Huron Wendat never spoke of business or came to a meeting without first smoking a pipe.

Spirituality

Feasts were part of Wendat spirituality, with Singing Feasts the largest and most popular. A man would hold a Singing Feast if he wished to gain status. Thanksgiving Feasts were held to celebrate good fortune.

Societies who dealt with both physical and mental disorders carried out curing feasts. Each society had a unique mask or symbol. A dying person gave farewell feasts when death was imminent.

Feasts were announced by the crier, and the more elderly the crier the more important the event. Dances and special rites accompanied all feasts. In addition, feasts included contests and games.

Illness

The Huron Wendat recognized three types of illness:

•  Natural causes, cured by herbs, drugs, poultices or sweating

•  Un-natural social behaviour thought to be witchcraft, dealt with by a Shaman

•  Psycho-illness that manifested itself in dreams. The Huron Wendat considered dreams to be the language of the soul. If dreamed desires remained unfulfilled, harm or even death could befall a person. Dreams and desires had to be interpreted by a Shaman

Shaman

There were four kinds of Shaman:

•  Those in control of wind, rain and weather

•  Those able to predict the future

•  Those able to find lost objects

•  Those able to heal the sick

Men usually took the position of healer, while women dealt with witchcraft and sorcery. The Shaman used visions and dreams to tell which actions to take. To achieve these visions, the Shaman would fast and remain celibate until an answer was received.

The Shaman worked with drugs and herbal remedies and mask or shell rattles. Shaman (men and women) were highly paid and highly respected.

La vie chez les Ouendats

Le territoire : Ouendake

La nation huronne-ouendate occupait un territoire sis au nord et à l’ouest du lac Simcoe, et au sud et à l’est de la baie Georgienne. Environ 70 pour 100 de ces terres étaient arables.

C'est une région excellente pour la chasse et la pêche, et la baie Georgienne, avec ses nombreux affluents, permettait aux Ouendats de contrôler les échanges entre le Sud fertile et le Bouclier canadien. Dans le périmètre du Ouendake, environ 330 kilomètres de pistes reliaient les quatre tribus de la nation huronne et tous leurs villages. Des sentiers quadrillaient l'ensemble du Ouendake et menaient également aux territoires voisins des nations des Pétuns et des Neutres.

Pour franchir de longues distances, il y avait les canots d’écorce. Ces embarcations, de quelque sept mètres de long et d’un mètre de large, pouvaient transporter quatre ou cinq hommes et une cargaison d’environ 91 kilos. Pendant l'hiver, les Ouendats se déplaçaient au moyen de raquettes, de traîneaux et de traînes sauvages.

Les tribus et les clans

La nation huronne-ouendate était une association de groupes de langue iroquoienne et se divisait en quatre grandes tribus :

•  La tribu de l’Ours (Attignawantan), la plus nombreuse, renfermait près de la moitié de la population ouendate. En 1640, le clan de l’Ours englobait treize villages.

•  La tribu de la Corde (Attigneenongnahac) occupait le territoire délimité par les rivières Sturgeon et Coldwater, sur la crête du mont St. Louis. Elle était partagée entre trois villages principaux. Comme celle de l’Ours, cette tribu était l’une des plus anciennes.

•  La tribu de la Roche (Arendarhonon) possédait un territoire sis entre Coldwater et Orillia. Ses membres formaient quatre villages, celui de Cahiague étant le plus important.

•  La tribu du Chevreuil (Tahontaenrat) a été la dernière tribu à s’établir au Ouendake. Elle occupait un territoire sis au nord du lac Orr.

Le « peuple du marais » (Ataronchrono) n’était pas reconnu par la confédération, au sein de laquelle il était pourtant représenté par les dirigeants de la tribu de l’Ours. Ce peuple était, semble-t-il, composé de segments de clans issus de la tribu de l’Ours et, peut-être, de réfugiés fuyant les Seneca, plus au sud.

Les conseils de tribu étaient convoqués par le chef d'un segment de clan. Avant le conseil, il y avait concertation dans chaque clan pour arrêter une position sur l'affaire en cause. Une fois l'an, tous les chefs de segments claniques assistaient au conseil de confédération. Ils y débattaient des guerres communes et des plans de défense, et y renouaient et renforçaient les liens entre nations. Pendant plusieurs semaines, habituellement au printemps, il y avait des banquets, accompagnés de danses, de festins et de présentations de cadeaux.

Les clans

Chez les Hurons-Ouendats, l’administration quotidienne était fondée sur le clan. Le clan rassemblait les descendants d'une même ancêtre. Divers chefs de clans composaient le conseil de village. Les chefs réunis par les conseils étaient uniquement des hommes, les femmes n'ayant pas directement voix au chapitre. Les Ouendats se mariaient habituellement à l'extérieur de leur clan. La plupart des villages entretenaient donc des liens par alliance, ce qui établissait d'étroites relations sociales.

On comptait huit clans hurons-ouendats, qui étaient des organisations fonctionnelles, ne reconnaissant pas les distinctions de tribu. Ces clans s'identifiaient à des animaux importants dans la mythologie de la genèse huronne-ouendate : tortue, loup, ours, castor, chevreuil, aigle, porc-épic et serpent. Les huit clans étaient généralement représentés dans chaque village.

La vie quotidienne

Les Hurons-Ouendats étaient des agriculteurs, qui cultivaient le maïs, le haricot et la courge. Leur régime alimentaire reposait principalement sur le maïs (dans la proportion de 65 pour 100). Une fois séchés et décortiqués, les grains de maïs étaient broyés, ou parfois écrasés entre deux pierres, pour faire de la farine. La sagamité (soupe au maïs) pouvait s'enrichir de morceaux de poisson, de viande et de courge. Le pain de maïs sans levain était cuit sous la braise, et on l’agrémentait de fruits secs et de viande de chevreuil. Parmi les autres ingrédients du régime alimentaire huron-ouendat, il y avait les haricots, les baies sauvages, les noix et le sirop d'érable. On cultivait le tournesol pour l'huile, utilisée en cuisine et pour s’enduire le corps.

Les femmes du village cultivaient leurs trois principales cultures sur des buttes légèrement surélevées. Le sol s’épuisait tous les deux ans à peu près, et il fallait alors aménager de nouveaux champs. À l’automne, on récoltait le maïs, qu’on mettait à sécher sur des gaules, dans la maison longue. On faisait aussi sécher les haricots, qui étaient entreposés avec le maïs, dans des récipients d’écorce ou de bois.

Les hommes pêchaient à l'aide de filets et de barrages (des enclos sous-marins) disposés sous l'eau. Ils se servaient parfois de javelots de bois armés d’une pointe. Les prises étaient abondantes : corégone, truite, esturgeon, brochet et poisson-chat. La plus grande partie était séchée et fumée pour être consommée plus tard. La chasse était une activité de printemps et d'automne, et le chevreuil était le gibier privilégié, à la fois pour sa chair et pour son cuir.

On poursuivait les chevreuils en les poussant dans des rivières ou des enclos construits à cette fin, où ils étaient abattus à coups de flèches. On fumait la viande, qu'on servait surtout comme plat principal lors des fêtes et célébrations. Les chasseurs hurons-ouendats traquaient l'ours avec des chiens spécialement dressés. Le chien était le seul animal domestique de la société huronne-ouendate. Il arrivait qu'on sacrifie des chiens ou qu'on en tue pour s'alimenter, surtout pendant l'hiver, lorsque la viande était rare.

Les chasseurs prenaient les castors au collet et les tuaient au moyen de flèches ou de matraques. On chassait le castor pour sa chair, mais aussi pour sa fourrure, et cette proie jouait un rôle prédominant dans le commerce du XVIIe siècle. On estime que, vers 1630, la population de castors avait disparu en Ouendake.

La cueillette était importante pour l'alimentation des Hurons-Ouendats. On recherchait fruits mûrs, noix et baies, racines de roseau et sève d'érable pour varier les plats et les agrémenter. Le chanvre servait à fabriquer la corde et à confectionner filets et paniers.

La vie familiale

La maison longue logeait en moyenne six familles. La famille se composait d'une femme, de ses filles ou de ses sœurs, ainsi que de leurs maris et enfants respectifs. Dans la maison longue, les femmes avaient de l’influence sur les dirigeants. Elles étaient les gardiennes du noyau familial et des traditions du village. Les femmes se chargeaient également d’une longue liste de tâches :

•  repas, couture et tannage des peaux

•  soin des enfants

•  entretien des feux et foyers servant à la cuisine

•  cueillette d'aliments

•  confection des paniers et des récipients

•  tissage des nattes et confection des filets

•  cultures

•  soin des membres de la famille et des invités

Les femmes avaient pour tâche prédominante de cultiver la terre. À l'aide de petites bêches en bois, elles enfouissaient les semences et entretenaient les cultures, chassaient les oiseaux et les rongeurs, faisaient les récoltes et brûlaient les restes végétaux pour amender les sols.

Les hommes, pour leur part, aspiraient à devenir des guerriers courageux, de bons pêcheurs et chasseurs et des commerçants habiles. Ils tentaient également de se gagner une réputation de générosité, d’éloquence et de sagesse. Dans chaque village, les hommes avaient de multiples occupations :

•  défrichage

•  chasse

•  pêche et entreposage du poisson

•  fabrication d'ustensiles et d'outils de bois et de pierre

•  réparation des structures du village

•  fabrication de canots, de pipes, de raquettes et de traîneaux

•  négociations de paix avec l'extérieur

Les hommes et femmes hurons-ouendats devaient travailler sans relâche pour se procurer des biens, et n’hésitaient pas à partager avec les autres membres de la maison longue, du village, du clan, de la tribu et de la confédération. Dans plusieurs comptes rendus des débuts, les visiteurs européens insistent tout particulièrement sur la générosité dont font preuve les Hurons-Ouendats à l'égard des Français et d'autres groupes autochtones.

Le mariage huron-ouendat était monogame et les partenaires pouvaient, l'un et l'autre, y mettre fin. Cela se produisait rarement si le couple avait des enfants. Lorsqu’une femme attendait un enfant, il était normal que chaque homme avec lequel elle avait cohabité en revendique la paternité. Il revenait à la mère de faire son choix. Les femmes enceintes se voyaient imposer certaines restrictions. Elles devaient se garder d’être aperçues par le gibier, de crainte que les bêtes ne s’enfuient. Elles devaient soigneusement éviter d’entrer chez les malades, car on pensait que cela pouvait aggraver leur état.

À la naissance d'un enfant, on lui perçait les oreilles, après quoi on lui attribuait un nom. À son plus jeune âge, l’enfant était enveloppé de fourrures et porté dans un porte-bébé garni d'un duvet moelleux, tiré des joncs et des roseaux. Il était allaité jusqu'à ses deux ou trois ans. On le nourrissait ensuite de soupe et de viande prémastiquée. On adorait les enfants, et tous s’en occupaient consciencieusement.

Empreints d'un fort sentiment de dignité, les Hurons-Ouendats considéraient qu'il était malsain de contraindre ou d'humilier quelqu'un en public, particulièrement les enfants. Ils n’avaient jamais recours au châtiment corporel comme punition.

Les enfants recevaient peu d’instruction théorique; ils acquéraient plutôt leurs habiletés au fil de leurs jeux. Les filles aidaient leur mère dans leurs travaux. On attendait des garçons qu’ils soient braves, audacieux et autonomes. Dès leur plus tendre enfance, ils s'infligeaient coupures et brûlures, pour s'entraîner aux épreuves qui devaient plus tard sanctionner leur courage et leur virilité.

La vie au village

Les villages étaient construits à proximité de terres arables et d’une bonne source d’eau. Les Ouendats en choisissaient les emplacements avec soin. Idéalement, le site présentait les avantages suivants :

•  à l'abri d'une falaise

•  à proximité d'une source

•  en surplomb d’une voie d'eau navigable

•  non loin d'une zone étendue se prêtant à l'agriculture

•  à portée d'une source de bois pour les feux et les constructions

Les grands villages étaient enclos par des palissades formées de rangs de pieux. Pour étayer ce rempart, on insérait entre les pieux des gaules entrelacées, pour former une sorte de treillage. Cet ouvrage présentait également des portails étroits, des tours de guet et des galeries de défense.

Les familles logeaient dans les maisons longues. Ces constructions sans fenêtres mesuraient en moyenne de 25 à 30 mètres de long, de 6 à 9 mètres de large et autant de haut. La maison longue était faite de troncs recourbés en arceaux, qu'on recouvrait ensuite d'écorce et de gaules. Les deux extrémités étaient percées de portes basses et il y avait habituellement un porche qui servait à entreposer les aliments et le bois de chauffage. Des orifices ménagés dans le toit permettaient à la lumière d’entrer et à la fumée de s’échapper. Des foyers, espacés d’environ 6 mètres, desservaient chacun deux familles. La fumée causait souvent des troubles oculaires chez les aînés. Si l’on compte six personnes par famille, la maison longue devait loger de 36 à 40 personnes.

Une plate-forme longeait les deux murs latéraux de la maison. L’hiver, les occupants dormaient sur le sol, près des foyers, et cette sorte d’étagère servait à l’entreposage. L’été, ils dormaient en plein air ou sur cette banquette, qui était assez large pour servir de couche. Les maisons longues étaient frugalement meublées - nattes d'écorce, de roseau ou d’enveloppes de maïs, fourrures sur le sol, pots, paniers et énormes cuvettes pour la conservation du maïs.

La maison longue durait de huit à dix ans. Un village changeait habituellement d’emplacement tous les 20 à 40 ans. Le déménagement était effectué avec l’aide des habitants de villages voisins.

Le vêtement huron-ouendat

Le manteau ouendat était fait de peaux de chevreuil et de castor. Les hommes portaient un pagne et des mocassins. L’hiver, ils y ajoutaient des manchettes, des jambières et une cape de fourrure. Les femmes s’habillaient d’une façon analogue, la jupe remplaçant le pagne. Les Ouendats se peignaient tout le corps et portaient des perles; le rouge était la couleur préférée. Ils utilisaient aussi comme décorations des plumes et des piquants de porc-épic. Les femmes ornaient leur chevelure de petits peignes décoratifs en os. Une autre parure populaire était le « wampum » : perles de verre, osselets et coquillages.

Les hommes portaient habituellement, suspendue dans le dos, une blague à tabac qui leur servait à transporter pipes, amulettes et autres effets personnels. La pipe était un accessoire hautement prisé; avant toute discussion d'affaires et toute réunion, on fumait d'abord une pipe.

La spiritualité

Les fêtes faisaient partie de la spiritualité ouendate, et celles qui mettaient le chant à l'honneur étaient les plus importantes et les plus populaires. Si un homme désirait promouvoir son rang social, il tenait une fête de ce type. Des fêtes d’action de grâces avaient lieu à l’occasion d’événements heureux.

Des fêtes de guérison étaient organisées par les sociétés de guérisseurs, qui traitaient les maladies mentales aussi bien que physiques. Chaque société était dotée d’un masque ou d’un symbole qui lui était propre. Lorsqu’une personne était mourante, on célébrait une fête des adieux.

Les fêtes étaient annoncées par un crieur; plus l’événement était important, plus le crieur choisi était âgé. Des danses et des rites particuliers accompagnaient toutes les fêtes, qui comprenaient jeux et concours.

La maladie

Les Hurons-Ouendats distinguaient trois types de maladie :

•  les affections d’origine naturelle, qu’on pouvait soigner à l’aide d’herbes, de remèdes, de cataplasmes ou d’une sudation abondante

•  les comportements sociaux jugés anormaux, qu'on croyait relever de la sorcellerie et dont le chaman devait s'occuper

•  les troubles psychologiques, qui se manifestaient par des rêves. Chez les Hurons-Ouendats, on croyait que le rêve était le langage de l'âme. Si les désirs révélés par ses rêves étaient réprimés ou frustrés, la personne en souffrait et pouvait même en mourir. Seul le chaman pouvait interpréter les rêves et les désirs qui s’y exprimaient

Les chamans

Il y avait quatre catégories de chamans, qui détenaient des pouvoirs différents :

•  Pouvoir sur les conditions météorologiques (vent, pluie, etc.)

•  Pouvoir de prédire l’avenir

•  Pouvoir de retrouver les objets perdus

•  Pouvoir de guérir les malades

Les guérisseurs étaient habituellement des hommes, tandis que la sorcellerie était du ressort des femmes. Le chaman déterminait les mesures à prendre par le truchement de visions et de rêves. Pour induire l’état visionnaire, il se soumettait à des périodes de jeûne et d’abstinence sexuelle, et ce jusqu’à obtention d’une réponse.

Les chamans utilisaient des drogues et des remèdes à base d’herbes, des masques et des crécelles en coquillages. Les chamans (hommes et femmes) jouissaient de la plus grande estime, et l’on payait très cher leurs services.

Documentation

Barbeau, Marius. Mythologie huronne et wyandotte. Dir. Pierre Beaucage. Montréal : Presses de l'Université de Montréal; 1994. Édition originale : Ottawa : Canada Department of Mines; 1915.
Culin, S. Games of the North American Indians. New York : Dover Publications; 1975.
Delaney, Paul J. et Andrew D. Nicholls. After the Fire : Sainte-Marie among the Hurons Since 1649. Dir. Irene Golas. Elmvale (Ontario) : East Georgian Bay Historical Foundations; 1989.
Hawkes, Christopher John. Sainte-Marie among the Hurons. Toronto : Ginn; 1974.
Hayes, John F. Wilderness Mission : The Story of Sainte-Marie among the Hurons. Toronto : Ryerson Press; 1969.
Heidenreich, Conrad E. et Arthur J. Ray. The early fur trades : a study in cultural interaction. Toronto : McClelland and Stewart; 1976.
Heidenreich, Conrad E. Huronia : a history and geography of the Huron Indians. Toronto : McClelland and Stewart; 1971.
Heidenreich, Conrad Edmund. Huronia : a history and geography of the Huron Indians 1600 - 1650. Toronto : McClelland and Stewart; 1971.
Jaenen, Cornelius J. Friend and foe : aspects of French-Amerindian cultural contact in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. Toronto : McClelland and Stewart; 1976.
Jury, Wilfrid et Elsie McLeod Jury, Sainte-Marie-aux-Hurons. Montréal : Bellarmin; 1980. Édition originale : Oxford University Press; 1953.
Kidd, Kenneth E. The Excavation of Sainte-Marie I. University of Toronto Press; 1949.
Mealing, S.R. The Jesuit Relations and allied Documents. Toronto: McClelland and Stewart; 1963.
O'Brien, John A. The first martyrs of North America. New York : All Saints Press; 1953, réimpression de 1963.
Parker, Arthur C. Iroquois uses of maize and other food plants. Albany (NY) : University of the State of New York; 1910.
Parkman, Francis. The Jesuits in North America in the Seventeenth century. Boston : Little, Brown; 1897, réimpression de 1925.
Patterson, Palmer. Indian Peoples of Canada. Toronto : Grolier Limited; 1982.
Ridington, Jillian et Robin. People of the Longhouse : How the Iroquoian Tribes Lived. Toronto : Douglas McIntyre; 1982.
Sagard, Gabriel. Le grand voyage du pays des Hurons. Présentation par Marcel Trudel. Montréal : Cahiers du Québec/Hurtubise HMH; 1976. Édition originale : 1732.
Tooker, Elisabeth. An Ethnography of the Huron Indians 1615 - 1649. Publié par le Huronia Historical Development Council, l'Ontario Department of Education Development Council et le ministère de l'Éducation de l'Ontario, avec la collaboration de la Smithsonian Institution. Washington (DC); 1967.Trigger, Bruce. The Huron Farmers of the North. New York : Holt, Rinehart and Winston; 1969.
Trigger, Bruce. The Impact of Europeans on Huronia. Toronto : Copp Clark; 1969, 64 p.
Trigger, Bruce. Les Enfants d'Aataentsic - L'histoire du peuple huron. Montréal : Éditions Libre Expression; 1991. Édition originale : McGill-Queen's University Press; 1976.
Tummon, Jeanie et W. Barry Gray. Before and Beyond Sainte-Marie : Excavations at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons 1987?1990. Hamilton : Copetown Press; 1995.
Wright, J.V. Six chapters of Canada's prehistory. Ottawa : Musée national de l'Homme; 1976.