The Men Who Lived At Sainte-Marie

The people who lived at Sainte-Marie were all French men, with the exception of one Italian priest. No women accompanied them. The Natives, drawn by curiosity, often came to visit the priests and their helpers to learn about their ways.

Jesuit Priests

The Jesuit Priests belonged to the Society of Jesus, an order founded by Ignatius Loyola in 1534. This active order was well organized, efficient, and disciplined. Only outstanding men, whose character and particular talents could be well utilized, were admitted to the Society. The process of becoming a Jesuit took between 13 and 15 years. Often called the “soldiers of Christ”, the Jesuits were organized along military lines.

A steady number of priests arrived after 1639, since Sainte-Marie would operate as a mission headquarters. As many priests as possible were needed to ensure that newcomers could be properly trained by more experienced priests. Some of the priests found life in New France difficult.

Lay Brothers

The Society of Jesus also included men who took vows as Lay Brothers. Each of the five Lay Brothers at Sainte-Marie was a skilled craftsman and devoted Catholic.

Donnés

The Donnés were another group of men at Sainte-Marie. They signed a contract with the Jesuits to help the priests and brothers with their missionary work.

Some of these men had specific skills such as carpentry or smithing, while others were labourers.

Engagés

Not all the men at Sainte-Marie took vows. The Jesuits hired men to help with building the wilderness mission of Sainte-Marie. They often would take the vows of a Donné after a year or two of working at the mission.

Soldiers

Soldiers sometimes accompanied the flotillas of canoes making the 1,250 kilometre journey from Québec. They spent the winter in Wendake, returning to Quebec the following spring. The Jesuit Fathers worried at first that the soldiers' conduct might set a bad example for the Wendat, but good behaviour soon set these fears to rest.

Les hommes qui vivaient à Sainte-Marie

À l'exception d'un prêtre italien, les habitants de Sainte-Marie étaient tous des Français. Il ne se trouvait aucune femme parmi eux. Les Indiens, curieux, rendaient souvent visite aux prêtres et à leurs auxiliaires, pour observer leur mode de vie.

Les jésuites

Les jésuites étaient des prêtres de la Société de Jésus, ordre fondé par Ignace de Loyola en 1534. Cet ordre militant était fortement structuré, discipliné et dynamique. Seuls des hommes de qualité, dont la personnalité et les talents particuliers pouvaient être mis à contribution, étaient admis à la Société. Pour devenir jésuite, il en prenait de 13 à 15 ans. Souvent appelés « les soldats du Christ », les jésuites étaient organisés selon un modèle militaire.

À partir de 1639, les prêtres arrivèrent en nombre, car Sainte-Marie servait de quartier général de la mission. Il fallait disposer du plus grand nombre possible de prêtres, afin de dispenser aux nouveaux venus une formation appropriée par des prêtres d'expérience. Certains des prêtres trouvaient difficile la vie en Nouvelle-France.

Les frères convers

La Société de Jésus comprenait également des hommes qui prononçaient les vœux de frères convers. Les cinq frères convers de Sainte-Marie étaient tous des artisans chevronnés et de fervents catholiques.

Les « donnés »

Les « donnés » formaient un autre groupe d'hommes à Sainte-Marie. Ils avaient signé un contrat avec la Société, s'engageant à aider les prêtres et les frères dans leur labeur de missionnaires.

Certains étaient des gens de métier - menuisiers-charpentiers et forgerons - tandis que d'autres étaient laboureurs.

Les engagés

Les hommes de Sainte-Marie ne prononçaient pas tous des vœux. Les jésuites engageaient des hommes pour les aider à édifier la mission de Sainte-Marie dans cette région sauvage. Souvent, ces employés prononçaient leurs vœux de « donnés » après avoir travaillé à la mission pendant un an ou deux.

Les militaires

Au départ de Québec, des soldats accompagnaient les flottilles de canots sur le trajet de 1 250 kilomètres. Ils rentraient à Québec le printemps suivant. Au début, les jésuites craignaient que les militaires ne soient d’un mauvais exemple pour les Ouendats, mais leur bonne conduite devait bientôt les rassurer.