For immediate release, March 16, 2016


FIRST LIGHT EVENT RECOGNIZED AS BEST IN CLASS


The annual First Light event at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons has once again been selected as one of the province’s Top 100 events by Festivals and Events Ontario.  Recipients within this elite category represent festivals and events that excel within the industry.


Now in its 16th year, First Light attracted a total of 11,371 visitors in 2015.  This impressive number signifies a 51% increase over visitation from the previous year.


“First Light is an exceptional community event with significant economic impact throughout Simcoe County.  The event continues to grow thanks to the support of our business partners including the Township of Tay, Newmarket-Tay Hydro, Tourism Simcoe County and RTO 7”, noted Will Baird, General Manager of Huronia Historical Parks.


The allure of First Light centers around thousands of enchanting lanterns illuminating the historic site which comes alive with authentic 17th century French and First Nations demonstrations, a cookhouse filled with delicious aromas and a unique array of family-friendly activities.


First Light was expanded from one to two weekends in 2015.  As a result of the incredible response from visitors and the community, the event will see a further expansion this year to three consecutive weekends, occurring Thursday to Saturday, commencing November 24th, and include festivities at Martyrs’ Shrine.  


For more information about HHP programs and events, please visit hhp.on.ca


Archived Media Releases

•  2014-2015 Media Releases

Pour diffusion immédiate, 16 mars 2016


L'ÉVÉNEMENT PREMIÈRE LUEURS EST RECONNU COMME LE MEILLEUR DE SA CATÉGORIE


L’événement annuel Premières lueurs à Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons a une fois de plus été sélectionné par Festivals and Events Ontario comme l’un des 100 meilleurs événements de la province. Les lauréats dans cette catégorie d’élite représentent les meilleurs festivals et événements du secteur.


Maintenant à sa 16e année, Premières lueurs a attiré un total de 11 371 visiteurs en 2015. Ce nombre impressionnant représente une augmentation de 51 % sur les visites de l’année précédente.


« Premières lueurs est un événement communautaire exceptionnel, avec un impact économique important dans tout le comté de Simcoe. L’événement ne cesse de croître grâce à l’appui de nos partenaires commerciaux, y compris le canton de Tay, Tay-Newmarket Hydro, Tourism Simcoe County et RTO 7 », a souligné Will Baird, directeur général des Parcs historiques de la Huronie (PHH).


L’attrait de Premières lueurs, ce sont les milliers de ravissantes lanternes qui illuminent le site historique. Ce dernier s’anime avec des démonstrations authentiques des Français et des Premières Nations du 17e siècle, un réfectoire aux délicieux arômes et une gamme unique d’activités adaptées aux familles.


Premières lueurs est passé d’un événement tenu sur une fin de semaine à deux fins de semaine en 2015. À la suite de l’engouement incroyable des visiteurs et de la collectivité, l’événement grandira davantage cette année, passant à trois fins de semaine consécutives, du jeudi au samedi à compter du 24 novembre, et inclura des festivités au Sanctuaire des martyrs canadiens.


Pour plus d’informations sur les programmes et événements des PHH, consultez hhp.on.ca


Media Archives

• Communiqués de presse 2014-2015