Leed Gold award plaque unveiling at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons

Huronia Historical Parks Goes Green

Significant LEED ® Achievement for Sainte-Marie among the Hurons

Huronia Historical Parks’ environmental commitment to the Sainte-Marie among the Hurons has been carried through to the green, sustainable development of the new Administration and Maintenance Building, opened in October 2010. They received LEED ® Gold certification in the area of New Construction and Major Renovation for the Administration and Maintenance Building. The LEED ® acronym stands for Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design and the program is administered by the Canada Green Building Council.

When representatives from Sainte-Marie among the Hurons, the construction company Ameresco Canada Inc., project managers, MHPM Project Managers Inc. and the Facilities Management Section of MTCS assembled September 19th to announce the achievement, this commitment to reach a LEED ® standard was evident by the pride and sense of accomplishment from the group.
Driven at the onset of the project to develop a design and construction strategy that would meet LEED ® criteria, the group exceeded expectations by reaching the Gold rating, beyond Infrastructure Ontario’s minimum requirement for LEED ® Silver.

The design and build was managed throughout the construction process with rateable LEED ® categories front of mind. We excelled in the areas of Water Efficiency, achieving a 30% water use reduction. Under Innovation and Design, Huronia Historical Parks managed to divert 88% of the construction waste from landfill and used materials that had 35% recycled content and were manufactured regionally. In addition, working in a green building has drastically improved the day-to-day quality of working life and staff is thrilled to be in this new environment.
Huronia Historical Parks also made a commitment to educate the public with LEED ® information on their web site, in a brochure, and via a video screen in the reception area.
For more information on the LEED ® Green Building Rating System please visit the Canada Green Building Council web site at cagbc.org

Read More

 


Water Efficiency

Water efficient fixture at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons

Canadians use more than double the amount of water on a daily basis than Europeans. Sainte-Marie is using water more effectively as well as reducing the amount of water used daily on the site by 30% by:

  • Installing water efficient fixtures
  • Using hands-free sensors
  • Planting drought tolerant plants that don’t require artificial irrigation
  • Installing low-flow toilets and urinals

Energy

Geo-thermal heating installed at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons

Measures to help reduce energy consumption and significantly minimize pollution were major considerations in our sustainable design.

With heating and cooling the largest energy consumer, our green design has included a horizontal-bed geothermal heating and cooling system underneath the northern parking lot, which extracts energy from under the earth’s surface. We’ve also integrated an energy recovery ventilation system.

Building Materials

Administration building at Sainte-Marie among the Hurons

Being resourceful in building a sustainable facility was important to us, as was the use of local materials and labour. It helps the local economy and lessens the environmental impact of transporting materials. South Georgian Bay and the surrounding area is rich in resources as is the province of Ontario. We sourced over 60% of materials within 800km of the site.

Dévoilement de la plaque d’or Leed à Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons

Les parcs historiques de la Huronie se mettent au vert

Une excellente notation LEED® pour Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons

L'aménagement écologique et durable du nouvel édifice de l'administration et de l'entretien, qui a ouvert ses portes en octobre 2010, témoigne de l'engagement environnemental des Parcs historiques de la Huronie pour Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons. L'édifice a reçu la certification Or du programme LEED® dans la catégorie Nouvelle construction et rénovations importantes. L'acronyme LEED® signifie « Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design » (leadership dans le domaine de l'énergie et de la conception environnementale). Le programme est administré par le Conseil du bâtiment durable du Canada.

Lorsque des représentants de Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, de la société de construction Ameresco Canada Inc., des chefs de projet, MHPM Project Managers Inc., et de la Section de la gestion des installations du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport se sont réunis le 19 septembre pour annoncer cette réalisation, la fierté et le sentiment d'accomplissement des membres du groupe illustraient clairement leur désir de satisfaire à la norme LEED®.

Déterminé dès le début du projet à élaborer une stratégie de conception et de construction qui remplirait les critères de la norme LEED®, le groupe a dépassé les attentes en obtenant le niveau or, au-delà de l'exigence minimale d'Infrastructure Ontario qui vise le niveau argent du programme LEED®.

La conception et la construction étaient gérées pendant tous les travaux de construction en visant les catégories élevées du programme LEED®. Parcs historiques de la Huronie ont excellés dans la catégorie consommation d'eau, ayant atteint un taux de réduction de la consommation d'eau de 30 %. Sur le plan de l'innovation et de la conception, nous avons réussi à détourner 88 % des déchets de construction d'un site d'enfouissement et avons utilisé des matériaux composés à 35 % de contenu recyclé et fabriqués à l'échelle régionale. En outre, le fait de travailler dans un édifice écologique a considérablement amélioré la qualité du travail au quotidien pour les membres du personnel qui sont ravis de se trouver dans ce nouvel environnement.

a également pris l'engagement de sensibiliser le public au programme LEED® en affichant sur son site Web une brochure d'information sur le programme et en projetant des renseignements sur le programme sur un écran vidéo, dans l'aire de réception.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le système d'évaluation des bâtiments écologiques LEED®, veuillez visiter le site Web du Conseil du bâtiment durable du Canada, à cagbc.org.

Suite

 


L’économie de l’eau

L’économie de l’eau

Les Canadiens utilisent quotidiennement deux fois plus d’eau que les Européens. En utilisant l’eau plus efficacement, Sainte-Marie a diminué sa consommation quotidienne de 30 % grâce aux moyens suivants :

  • En utilisant des appareils qui permettent d’épargner l’eau,
  • En utilisant des capteurs mains libres,
  • En plantant des espèces qui tolèrent la sécheresse et n’exigent pas d’arrosage artificiel,
  • En utilisant des toilettes et des urinoirs à débit d’eau restreint.

L’économie d’énergie

Chauffage géothermique installé à Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons

En matière de durabilité, des mesures ont été adoptées pour diminuer la consommation d’énergie et limiter efficacement la pollution.

Le chauffage et la climatisation étant les principales causes de consommation d’énergie, le plan vert comporte un système horizontal de chauffage et de climatisation géothermique sous le terrain de stationnement nord, qui transforme l’énergie puisée sous la surface de la terre, ainsi qu’un dispositif pour récupérer l’énergie du système d’aération.

Les matériaux de construction

Bâtiment de l'administration à Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons

Nous tenions à construire un édifice durable, avec une main d’oeuvre et des matériaux locaux. Cela aide l’économie locale et diminue l’impact sur l’environnement causé par le transport des matériaux. Le sud de la baie Géorgienne et tout l’Ontario regorgent de ressources, et nous avons pu acheter 60 % des matériaux à l’intérieur d’un rayon de 800 kilomètres.